Circa 1950 – Hankie Quilt (Part 5: The Big Reveal)

Finally. The cute little dresses will be hung out to dry.

First, they need a clothes line. I picked something I thought appropriate and appliqued the poles on – but once it was done, the colour seemed wrong. It needs to look rustic. Paint helped. Then I even applied some varnish to keep the colour from bleeding on to the quilt. Chain stitching with crochet cotton completes the line.

Each flimsy little dress is fused with a lightweight knit tricot, and then receives some personalized touches… a belt, buttons, maybe a little embroidery. I could have taken this further, but my patience with the project was waning.

Some final arranging is done. The torn red dress does not make the cut. It will go on the back.

Each dress is appliqued on, and our Circa 1950 quilt is done! Here is the big reveal.

Front
back with label in the middle; note buttons lower left where label can be flipped and attached
front with hanging label

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted
This entry was posted in 2022, art, heritage quilts, labels, Reclaimed and Repurposed, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Circa 1950 – Hankie Quilt (Part 5: The Big Reveal)

  1. vivian383 says:

    This has got to be one of the cutest quilts ever! Now I wish I had kept my mothers and grandmothers’ hankies.

  2. Liz Moore says:

    Such a unique way to preserve the hankies! It’s lovely.

  3. Noëlla Grenier says:

    That is just too cute for words!!!!!

  4. Diane Ell says:

    Beautiful and so innovative. I love the idea, the story and of course the workmanship. Great job Judy. What a wonderful way to honor your Mother-In-Law and the past.

    Sent from my iPhone

  5. Char says:

    Absolutely darling! Love your background quilting and of course the hankies are precious. What a family heirloom!

  6. Jeany Chan says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!!

  7. Jan Gunness says:

    This is so fabulous, what a wonderful way to honor loved ones. Thanks for sharing

  8. LaurelM says:

    So behind in my reading. This quilt is mind-blowingly clever and thoughtful, not to mention, impeccably designed and sewn. One of my favourites of yours!

Leave a comment