Ruler Quilting 101 – Block 3

In Block 3 we will start using the Arc ruler. During the summer, when I was preparing for this series, I jotted down designs I liked and was surprised at how many used an arc pattern. So much so, that we will make at least 4 blocks using arc rulers. For this first one, we will just use two that are almost identical in the arc they provide.

So, here is Block 3: block3

Here are the particulars:

  • RULER: 12 & 13″ arc
  • LEVEL OF DIFFICULTY: 101, Beginner Ruler Quilting, some experience Free Motion Quilting (FMQ)
  • DESIGNS:
    • whirlwind, square
    • water lily, border
    • orbit star, corner
    • cathedral window, corner

Here are the rulers I will be using: 13 inch arc ruler

  1. This is the 12″ Arc/straight edge combo ruler in the Westalee (Sew Steady) starter kit. It is 1/8″ thick, and 6″ long.
    • Markings: it has 3 horizontal lines that run parallel to the edge of the rulerthat allow for design widths of 1/4″, 1/2″, 1″ and 2″. In addition, it has 9 vertical lines including a start and finish line.
    • What I like about this ruler:  I really like having all the vertical lines. It makes it easy to divide a 6″ space into half, thirds or quarters. I also like the size when doing a small space, like the corners
    • Things that could be an issue: The size was something I liked when doing small spaces, but becomes an issue when doing larger spaces or longer lines. I will give you alternatives when we get to those spots.
  2. This is a 13″ Arc ruler by Teryl Loy Enterprises. Mine is 3/8″ thick; it also comes with a thickness of 1/4″. It has an inside curve and an outside curve.
    • Markings: This ruler also has 3 horizontal lines, but they are thicker in the center and tapered at the ends. This provides reference lines when your stitching is not going to be a consistent amount. to It has one vertical line in the middle.
    • What I like about this ruler: I really liked that the ruler had an inside and outside curve. It gives you more options. If you are tight for space, or if you have a preference to use one hand over the other, you have the flexibility to use either curve. I liked the length of this ruler for larger spaces. I also used it successfully on my low shank, small throat machine.
    • Things that could be an issue: I wish this ruler had more vertical lines. Sometimes I was guessing on the placement

Step 1: Make the basic markings on your quilt sandwich

  • Mark your 18″ square, lines A1, A2, A3 and A4. (same as Block #1)
  • Mark the 4 lines that are 3″ in from the seam allowance, lines B1, B2, B3 and B4. (same as Block #1)
  • Find the center of each B line (C 1-4)
  • Find and mark the center of your block (D)

A1S1

Step 2: Stitch all your B lines.

Step 3: Stitch from one corner of a BB line to the center mark. Flip the ruler and stitch down to the opposite corner. Repeat the second line in the same way to/from the other 2 corners. You have now divided the center block into 4 curved sections.

Note: Remember to use your small ruler to determine your ruler placement 1/4″ away from the stitching line. This is just a little more difficult than it was with the straight ruler. I find it helps to stand the small ruler up so that the arc of your quilting ruler does not interfere with the 1/4″ measure. The picture below shows how easy it is to be off. I couldn’t get a good picture when I stood the ruler up.

A1s

Note: The Westalee ruler is not long enough to reach from the corner to the center. If you are using the Westalee ruler, you will need to start at the corner and stitch to one of the vertical marks. Then stop and move the ruler so that you can reach the center and continue stitching.

Each of the 4 curved sections will be treated in the same way. From whichever corner you ended, travel along the B line until you can place your ruler on the second line (1/2″ line) on your ruler. Sew to the center curved line, travel 1/2″ and sew back down to the boarder. Repeat this kind of echo stitch until you have the whole section filled. Then repeat for the other 3 sections. A1S3

Step 4: Make a waterlily in each of the 4 boarder sections. Using the C marks as your guide, stitch from the SA to 1/2″ on either side of the mark on the B line. Then stitch four lines to each corner square, following the diagram shown above.

 

Step 5: Stitch an orbit star in 2 corners, opposite from each other. A1S5

Step 6: Stitch a cathedral window in the 2 other corners. The arc on this ruler did not produce a very nice cathedral window. Since this is a sampler quilt, I might leave it so that I remember what not to do, or I might still change it using a ruler with more of an arc (like the 4″ ruler in the Westalee starter kit). A1S6

Due to a medical emergency, I did not get next week’s block finished in time to show you. Instead, I will give you a couple of recipe’s from Ken’s Kitchen.

Both of these are slow cooker recipes. I once made the mistake of telling DH that all slow cooker recipes taste the same. That was a challenge and he wasn’t happy until he found some different ones. I hope you like them.

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2017, my patterns, quilt along, ruler quilting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ruler Quilting 101 – Block 3

  1. Donna & John Hartle says:

    I really like these ones Judy! I think I should have taken you up on the offer of using the rulers on the lime/turquoise/white quilt as I’m not liking what I’m doing AT ALL but I’m too far in now to change it.

    How are you doing? Hope you’re feeling much better now and heal quickly. We missed you on Tuesday!

    Praying for a speedy recovery for you 😊.

    Donna

    Sent from Mail for Windows 10

Leave a Reply

