Summer Holidays

I feel like I dangled a carrot in front of you, and now I’m taking it away. Not really, just making you wait.

After 2 years of posting almost every week, I have decided to take the summer off. My life needs to get re-organized. Then there is travel, there is yard work, there are grandchildren to play with – and other fun things. Not that quilting isn’t. I will still quilt. And I will definitely play with rulers.

Last week we started a list of why you might want to use rulers. One comment I received was that rulers are cheaper than a long arm. So true! What a great addition to our list.

Having said that, getting started with a basic set of rulers and a ruler foot is still an investment. If you are just starting out, here are a couple more things to consider before you make a purchase.

Your rulers need to have good markings. Look for rulers with markings etched on as opposed to being painted on.

Rulers are very slippery. You will find that you probably need to add some ‘grip’. What are your options?

  • They sell grips made especially for rulers, but I have yet to see them in for sale in a quilt store.
  • I tried grip disks made for cutting rulers but did not find them sticky enough. They might work better with smaller rulers.
  • I have tried the hook side of hook & loop tape, but was frustrated by the fact that everything else stuck to it (esp. batting).
  • I tried stair tread tape from Ikea. It is a role of tape that feels like sandpaper. The grip works REALLY well, but it scratches everything in sight.

My solution was to make a ruler bag. Not only does it protect the rulers from scratching each other, it also keeps everything in one place and is easy to transport. Once you have invested into rulers, you want to treat them well.

The bag folds in half, ending up about the size of a large purse. Magnets and flaps hold everything in.ruler bag

It opens up flat. There are 3 pockets on the left. The pockets are layered. When the rulers are in their pockets, they don’t touch each other and they don’t lay on top of each other.ruler bag left

And there are 4 pockets on the right. In this case the small upper pockets are on top of the long pockets, so I did add padding for protection.ruler bag right

The small straight ruler was the hardest to accommodate. The handles prevent it from fitting nicely into a pocket. I ended up putting it along the spine, half way into a pocket and tied with ribbon. ruler bag inside

Now we are all set. I hope you will join me for some ruler quilting come September. Have a great summer!

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2017, my patterns, ruler quilting, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer Holidays

  1. Kate says:

    Great bag, Judy. Have a lovely summer, take lots of pictures. I’ll be looking for them in the fall.

  2. Lesley says:

    Have a good summer Judy. See you in the fall.

Leave a Reply

