Tesselation Twister

At long last I am revealing my most recent finish – Tesselation Twister. Tesselation is defined as a variety of geometric shapes, that are harmonious in nature but do not have any overlaps or repeats. It describes the quilting on this quilt perfectly. ‘Twister’ highlights the pattern and the tool used in making this quilt. I had many great name suggestions from my Facebook friends, and in the end combined several to come up with this one.

The story of this quilt started with some sparkly fabric I just couldn’t resist. If you have seen the beautiful colours and pre-cuts by Northcott Studio called Artisan Spirit Shimmer, you would understand why.swirl10

But it wasn’t long before I had buyer’s remorse. When is the last time you have seen sparkly fabric in a quilt? What kind of pattern should I use? What could I mix it with?

Then I came across a pattern called Twister Illusions by Quilt Moments. It was perfect. Of course I needed to buy more fabric to make it work. Such a hardship!

The project was set aside. Out of sight, out of mind. It was rediscovered during a construction project, as which time it jumped the cue to the front of the line and became #1 priority. I wrote more about the process in a post last August 10th.  Basically, the whole quilt is pieced with 5″ squares, which are then cut up using the Lil’ Twister tool. Then it is sewn back together again.

There is quite a lot of waste when using this took, so I cut the scraps into 2 1/2″ squares and used them on the back.swirl5

Then it went away for custom quilting. I didn’t know what to expect. Picking a name blind, and entrusting your quilt to someone you do not know comes with a certain amount of fear. Her credentials included belonging to the well respected Quilter’s Guild of North Dakota, and pictures of show quilts she has done for others.

She asked a lot of questions, and took notes. She knew what kind of stitches I preferred, and the ones I didn’t care for. Other than that, I had to trust her. She was free to be as creative as she liked.

When it was time to pick the quilt up, I had to be mentally prepared to hate it. I wanted to love it, but had to be prepared for the worst. If I didn’t like it, how would I react? Do you pretend to like it? Do you take it and run?

Then I saw it. I didn’t have to pretend. Not only did I love it. Not only is it a treasure I will cherish. It is a work of art. Every time I look at it, I see something new. Every time I look at it, I am amazed at the creativity; the attention to detail. Thank you Clem!

The stitching was a little difficult to capture on the black. Here are some close ups. The colours aren’t as clear, but the stitching is more noticeable.

It is a little clearer from the back, where the coloured threads show up more. You will notice that some of the designs carry across several thread changes. The work of a master quilter.

It was such a pleasure working with Clem Buzick of Creative Dimension.

Now, for a progress report on my 1st Canada Block Party quilt. I ALMOST cut the borders off but good quilter friends suggested I try blocking it first. The only space I could find big enough was the garage floor. blocking0Misting didn’t work, but a good soaking in the bathtub, lots of basting pins and several days drying did. It was magic. Well, almost. If the colours hadn’t run. Honestly, this quilt is fighting me every step of the way!

The binding is on and I just might meet my end-of-May deadline. The big reveal might be only a few weeks away.

This weekend I am off to Saskatchewan for a class called Rulers 201. I am so excited! I have played with rulers some, but know there must be tricks that make it more accurate and faster. Will let you know how that goes!

Have a great week.

 

 

 

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2017, Canada 150, Highlighting others, Scraps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tesselation Twister

  1. Marnie says:

    Beautiful quilts. I loved the twister finishes, such a masterpiece. For sure. Have a wonderful time at the Sask. quilters conference.

  2. Kate says:

    I don’t think those lovely fabrics deserve any buyer’s remorse. You have made them into a lovely quilt, a feast for the eyes.

  3. Linda says:

    Your quilt is just fabulous! I just love the perfect quilting.

Leave a Reply

