From Ugly to Prince Charming

I won a basket with some uglies…

glass 165

I bought some pre-cuts with uglies hidden in the center.

I heard that if your fabric is still ugly, you just haven’t cut it small enough so I bought a pattern that called for small pieces of 80 different fabrics – 40 dark; 40 light. (Split log cabin by Judy Neimeyer, for the record)

ugly5

I bought more fabric.

I shuffled the deck according to instructions.

ugly4

I made the blocks. This was not my kind of fabric or my kind of pattern. Quilting friends told me to stick with it – it would turn out in the end.

ugly1

I decided I had a colour problem, and signed up for classes.

I put some of the fabrics on the back as a forever reminder.

ugly6

I posted a picture on FB.

ugly3

It got 1500 likes, 200+ comments and 50 shares.

Someone wants to buy it.

Go figure.

Have a great week. Thanks for reading this post.

 

 

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2017, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to From Ugly to Prince Charming

  1. Kathy Stephen says:

    They say Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

  2. Marnie Houston says:

    It may never be your favourite but it did turn out very nice. Thanks for the good read. Ps. You don’t have a Color problem , I’ve seen your work.

    Marnie Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Lisa Grabowski says:

    Judy your quilts are beautiful, and by the way, I think that all the fabrics are lovely.

  4. Marilyn Fontaine says:

    I like it. Isn’t it funny how we hate (maybe not hate), dislike a quilt as we are piecing, but like it when it all comes together.

  5. Kate says:

    I think the quilting does a lot to change the final look of a quilt, making a huge difference in the finished product.

  6. Peggi Chambers says:

    I like it! I am a form that there are no ugly babies, no ugly brides, and no ugly quilts. Good job, Judy. Peggi

Leave a Reply

