Seeing Red

I have fallen in love with the colour red.

It wasn’t planned. The last red & white item I made during decades of crafts and custom sewing was a hounds tooth ‘blazer’ when I was in high school. Now that was a looooong time ago!.

But it happens to be Canada’s 150th birthday this year. To celebrate, I was going to make one red & white quilt. Yes, that was one.

Here is a preview of the quilt I started with along with one of the lovely fabrics I found by Moda. I decided to use a strip of it in each block. Subtle Canada.

The blocks are done and up on my design wall. Everyday I rearrange one or two. The big decision is whether to quilt it myself  (insert fear and trembling), or send it out.

A jelly roll that turned out to be half a jelly roll (insert annoyed!) meant a trip to all the local quilt stores (not so annoying) and a whole lot more red fabric to work with. Do you know how hard it is to find red these days?

So after using a mere 2 1/2″ strip from each, I have a small red stash. More than enough to make a small red & white wall quilt to be donated to the Manitoba Craft Council for their Red & White Quilt Exhibition , but what to make?

For Christmas I received Volume 3 of Our Quilting magazine. It had an article on making zenties. Now you can insert crazy. They are fabric mosaics using 1″ scraps with seam allowances folded under, and then appliqued on to a background fabric. zentiesGoing with the theme of Canada’s 150th, I decided to make one with 150 squares. Well, that certainly used a lot of fabric! Not.

Then a friend came back from British Colombia with patterns from Northcott’s TransCanada Block.Party. Each participating quilt shop across Canada designed their own block using Northcott’s Sesquicentennial fabric line. The only problem is you have to visit the quilt store in person in order to get the kit. Some are pretty fabulous. Check out and vote on the top 10 on Northcott’s FB page. This is similar to the row-by-row, if you are familiar with that.

A number in my quilt group got excited about making a quilt using the Northcott blocks. I tried to resist, but did not succeed.  Soon we were comparing notes and contacting friends across the country to visit their local quilt stores to purchase kits. Here are my first 3:

red2

Addie’s Foothills Scene, Cochrane AB

red3

Simply Canadian by Family Fabrics, Arborg, MB

red1

Toque by Heather’s Fabric Shelf, Kamloops BC

BTW, does anyone know someone living in Selkirk, Ontario? I just have to have the mitten block to go with the toque!

Since we have only 2 stores in Manitoba that are participating, our small group decided to design a block. One thing led to another. That block is still under construction, but here is one I designed just for this blog. So, YOU WILL ONLY FIND THIS PATTERN HERE! Totally unofficial, but feel free to print and use the pattern called winterpeg.

red-winterpeg

  • blue for big prairie sky, and our thousands of lakes
  • gold for all the fields of grain we produce
  • red and white because we are part of Canada
  • prairie points – a salute to our quilting heritage
  • and snowflakes. How could I not? We are known as Winterpeg, after all.

These are the fabrics used in the block:

redIf you want to locate quilting stores that are participating in your area click here for Northcott’s map of quilt shops and locations. They also have a contest with prizes for winning quilts. You have lots of time to get this done. Join us in the fun.

Christmas everyday, this quilting is.

 

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in Canada 150, my patterns, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeing Red

  1. Kathy Stephen says:

    I love your block. Winterpeg is so appropriate and the snowflakes are lovely. You inspire me.

Leave a Reply

