1 Million Miles in 1 Year!

1,000,819 miles to be exact. 1 Year. Thirty countries including Canada coast-coast, and 31 states in the USA. (complete list of miles and countries here)

So exactly how far is 1 million miles? It is 2 trips to the moon and back. It is 40 trips around the world! What an incredible journey! Thanks to the 63 different people who sent almost 500 quilted postcards. They are the ones who made it happen!

The winner of the December contest for the most miles was Marnie Houston for her 70,184 miles! Marnie has been a wonderful supporter of this project right from the beginning. She has sent cards to family, friends and strangers every month and is the only one with a complete set of my cards. In December she made 32 cards. Here is a sample.

In the end I decided to give 3 prizes. Virginia is also receiving a prize for her 24 cards that went an amazing 53,355 miles. You may remember that in the summer Virginia went on a bus tour to Newfoundland. While on tour, they received complementary candy in bags made out of Newfoundland tartan fabric. When she returned home, she used the fabric she had collected to make cards that she then sent to everyone on the tour. She had some scraps left over that went into Christmas cards (the plaid Christmas trees) for her tour friends.

Another prize went to Vicki Walsh who made the most cards in the month of December – an incredible 64 cards!  The most cards I have ever made in a single month was 25; I can’t imagine making 64. She actually kept a spreadsheet to track locations and miles! If you are not familiar with her website, you really should check it out. She sells hand dyed fabric but her work in everything is impeccable. One of her recent blog posts shows how she made her beautiful December birthday postcards. Here is the Christmas card I received from her, which I love. vicki

For a prize, I decided to pay tribute to Canada’s 150th birthday so will be sending each one 5 red & white fat quarters plus a pin. In addition,  Marnie will receive an embroidered picture that states “Being creative is not a hobby, it’s a way of life” for having the most miles.

As for my December cards? I got so carried away trying to get as many miles as possible, I sent all my cards without keeping one for my records or taking pictures. However, I can tell you that I repeated some of my patterns from last year, so here are pictures I took at that time.

This process has been fabulous. I never expected to reach a million miles in only 1 year. Along the way, my skills in designing and making quilted postcards has improved – some by practice but mostly from seeing all of your creative ideas. Another wonderful benefit was meeting and making friends from around the world. I am sure we will still be in touch, and will exchange more postcards in the future.

In January we will do a short quilt-a-long. If you are interested in making my pattern of a hand stitching travel book, I will be posting instructions each week starting this Wednesday. Pictures and a supply list was included in my post last week.

All the Best, and Happy New Year to you!

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in Contests, Highlighting others, quilted postcards, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1 Million Miles in 1 Year!

  1. Miriam says:

    That’s so awesome Judy.

  2. Vicki W says:

    This is fantastic!

  3. Elise says:

    Congratulations, Judy!

  4. Kate says:

    That’s a lot of miles and a lot of postcards. Congratulations to all.

  5. Laurel says:

    Congratulations, Judy! I love your dedication to your project. I’m happy that you exceeded your goal!

  6. Sheryl says:

    Congrats to all. It’s fun to see some of the wonderful postcards.

Leave a Reply

