Fruits of the Earth – October Reveal

Look at these beautiful postcards I received under “Fruits of the Earth”.

oct-marnieThe first one is a leaf in rich fall colours done in a Confetti design.  According to Marnie, you make an outline to show where the leaf will be, then add pieces within the outline of different materials.  In this case there are pieces of wool and pieces silver/gold chocolate wrappers.  Once they are in place you put netting on top, and stitch down around the outside perimeter.  Then the final stitching is done and you trim the netting either before or after this last step. This is not a technique that I have used before, but will look for a way to use it in the future. A perfect excuse to eat chocolate!

oct-virginiaVirginia sent me a visual buffet. Lettuce, tomatoes, peas, garlic, lemons, strawberries, cherries, bananas, oranges, apples. I like them all! She says that she discovered she had a lot of fabric with fruits and vegetables.

I decided to tackle grapes done with needle felting as my take on “Fruits of the Earth.” october-2016

Needle felting is a simple technique. Using VERY sharp felting needles (ask me how I know) and small pieces of wool, you attach the pieces of wool together by poking them repeatedly.  You can use a felting board or a dense sponge as a base which allows the needle to go through the wool and into the sponge without damaging the needle or your work surface. If you want to know more, there are you-tube videos you can watch and on-line sources for supplies.

In this case, I put a piece of white fabric that was slightly bigger than 4″x6″ on the sponge and then felted a cluster of grapes in varying shades of purple through the cotton. I tried to use as little wool as possible for each grape in order to keep the thickness to a minimum.

When the was felting done, I had to peel the fabric off the sponge. There was a fair bit of wool on the underside, which I trimmed in order to reduce bulk. I was hoping the adhesive on the FlexiFirm would be enough to keep the wool in place but added some free motion embroidery on the grapes just to be sure. Then I used yarn as a border.

What will our theme be in November? Why don’t we make it a “Wild Card” month. That gives you the freedom to do anything – use a card in your stash, get an early start on your Christmas cards, or actually do something really wild. Go to it!

Have a great week. Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. Don’t be shy about leaving a comment. I love to hear from you.

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2016, quilted postcards, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fruits of the Earth – October Reveal

  1. Sheryl says:

    The postcards are beautiful. I’m intrigued by the lovely leaf design. Thanks for explaining how it is done.

Leave a Reply

