Tina & I on retreat

This week I hung up the paint brushes, tile cutters and anything else construction related. It was bonding time with Tina (my sewing machine at the lake).

Before we get to quilting, here is the vanity I was working on. It was inspired by an antique store I visited in Singapore where they modernized antiques with chalk paint and glass. This piece was a sideboard made with reclaimed wood. It was the right size, and had a drawer that could be removed for a sink, but was the wrong colour. A perfect piece to personalize! Chalk paint is easy to work with – it goes on anything without stripping or sanding first. Instead of glass, I used epoxy as a sealer for the top. It gives it a high gloss thick finish. Not quilting but still fun.

Tina helped me put Humpty Dumpty back together again. Once the front was done we had lots of little pieces left over and since we don’t like to waste fabric, we left Humpty Dumpty in pieces on the back. This one is going to be quilted by someone with a long arm so you won’t see it again for a number of months. (Sorry for the quality of the photos. The black really did not want to transfer well)

You voted, and the winning layout is done. I will quilt this one but the ideas have to perculate for awhile. Right now I am seeing (moving upper left corner down) pink sunsets, blue water, green grass, brown earth. Hopefully the quilting inspiration doesn’t take to long…image

In the spring I pieced Grandson No 2 a quick and easy quilt for his visits to the lake. Last year he was still using baby blankets. This year he will be 2 and needs something a little bigger. Lake season is almost over, so it is definately time to finish! I sure am glad boys get cheerful colours these days. It is a panel with a piano key border using fabrics from my stash – a mixture of cotton and flannel. It was a good quilt on which to practice free-motion embroidery.image

Next on the agenda are August postcards. It’s not too late if you want to participate. Just let me know by the end of this week. The theme is “Go Vintage’ so think of your favorite vintage anything and put it on a card. I have already received one that made me chuckle. I loved it and am looking forward to showing it to you the first Wed in September.

Be creative, and have a great week. Thanks for stopping by.

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2016, Reclaimed and Repurposed, Scraps, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tina & I on retreat

  1. Marnie says:

    The cabinet is beautiful Judy. I’m assuming the white one is the half Laing, did you get it from the Cottage paint co ? I bought some myself and used it on picture frames. Love your strata and Humpty Dumpty th quilts too.

  2. Laurel says:

    Wow, you’ve been busy, Judy. Your vanity is gorgeous; that looks like SO much work. It turned out very well. I LOVE the Humpty Dumpty quilt. It also turned out very well.

  3. Sheryl says:

    Wow, it’s amazing how the chalk paint changed a boring vanity into a stylish piece of furniture.

Leave a Reply

