Anne’s Garden – A Grand Give Away

Update on the 1 Million Mile Quilted Postcard Challenge: Requests are in, and the opportunity to register for February cards is now closed.  In January we went 33,000 miles. Next week I will reveal the February cards for “Looking out my Front Door”.

**************

Ken’s Kitchen: Crispy Lemon Roasted Chicken


Annes garden2

Anne’s Garden

Anne’s Garden: You could win this quilt!

I made this quilt in honour of my mom so I am making the announcement this week (it would have been her birthday on Valentine’s Day), and will make the draw on my birthday -to be announced on my blog post of June 8th.  It is my gift to some faithful subscriber. No strings attached.

I copied the pattern for this quilt from a quilt mom made for my children in the late 1980’s. One winter she made a quilt for each grandchild – 13 in total. Her patterns were simple and economical. She used fabric from bed sheets – they were often on sale and were easy to obtain. They were cut with scissors and mom bnothing was wasted, so each one ended up different.  Now, almost 30 years later, I still have them. Mom was a special lady who shared her love of making things with me.  Shortly after she made all of the grandchildren quilts she had a stroke and ended up in a Personal Care Home while she was still in her 50’s. You can read more about her in 3 stories I did on the Quilting Legacy of my Mom.

I wanted to replicate Mom’s quilt, with my own personal touches. It is still very simple, with a combination of plain and print strips. If you are new to quilting and do not have many tools, you could still make this quilt. The instructions are here for Anne’s Garden, not including the 3-D flowers that I found on a pattern by Hemma Designs.

In order to be eligible, you must be a registered follower of this blog at the time of the draw. To register you simply click ‘Follow’ in the right Sidebar. You will be asked for your email address and you will receive an email whenever I post a blog (every Wed or Thursday). You can unsubscribe at any time. Your email will not be used for any other purpose.

Once the draw is made, the winner will be announced and the email name (without the extension) will be displayed for 30 days.  It will be the responsibility of the winner to contact me with their mailing name and address within the 30 day time limit.

I wish all of you luck.  I think it is a quilt any girl/daughter/granddaughter would love to own (sorry guys, maybe next time).

Have a wonderful creative week.

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2016, Highlighting others, recipes, super simple quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Anne’s Garden – A Grand Give Away

  1. pegsplace says:

    So nice to visit you Judy. Too bad I missed the postcard deadline but here is hoping that you do it next month. I am in the midst of making thank you postcards (to some retreat gals…after I finish and send them, I will post them on my blog). What a thoughtful gesture that you are doing. I will check into your giveaway, thank you for doing that!

    • There will definitely be a next month! We have a scary number of miles still to go. Next week I will reveal my February cards and announce the March theme for those that wish to follow the theme. The first week of March I will announce the places our cards went and the number of miles traveled. I look forward to visiting your blog and seeing your cards.

  2. Vicki W says:

    What a lovely tribute to your Mom!

  3. Marnie Houston says:

    Hope you didn’t mind my messy hand stitching, just not use to doing something different like that. Pushed me out of my comfort zone for sure. Didn’t have my postcard stamp at the time either. Lol

Leave a Reply

