Colour in a World of White

Remember to register for the 1 Million Mile Quilted Postcard Challenge!  You have until Monday February 15th to send me a comment and let me know YOU want a postcard this month.  The theme for February is ‘LOOKING OUT MY FRONT DOOR’. I have started the cards – some dying, some drawing, some Heat & Bond. The biggest questions is how best to ‘make’ snow. Any ideas?

*****************

A cold winters ‘s night. Is it tempting to snuggle under the sheets and stay there until spring? Well, with this quilt it just might happen.primitive patches outside2

Primitive Patches began as a bundle of flannel Fat Quarters I bought while on holidays last summer. Primitive Patches ended with the final few stitches being taken during Super Bowl 50.Primitive Patches outside1

There were 2 things I wanted in a winter quilt – warmth and colour. Flannel is my dream fabric. Every piece, every time you look at it, just calls out ‘touch me,’ ‘touch me.’

Primitive Patches back

Back

The back of the quilt is another layer of warmth – charcoal grey Minke.  So, so very soft.

Warmth is one thing, beauty is another. For 4 months a year (+/-), we live in a world of white, brown and grey. I wanted a quilt that was cheerful. One that makes you happy. Well, what our landscapes lack for colour, this quilt surely doesn’t!

For the design, I chose the ‘Disappearing 4-Patch’. It’s fast and fun. You start by making a simple 4-patch.  four patchYou can use squares of any size (charm packs or layer cakes would be ideal).  I made my squares 9″ so that I could get 4 squares from each fat quarter with minimal waste. Then you make a cut on either side of both seams (4 cuts).  There is no formula.  As long as you are consistent throughout, you can cut what is pleasing to the eye.  I made my cuts at 2 1/2″ from the center seam, both directions.  Now you have the 9 patches that will make the block.

mix

middle squares rearranged

Then you simply reverse the middle square- top and bottom, as well as the middle square-right and left, before sewing the 9 patches back together. (Actually you can do many variations but that is the one I chose.)

9 patch

sample block, sewn together

In this case I made 30 blocks – 6 rows with 5 blocks in each row.  Each finished block is 15″ square. The quilt measures 95 x 80.

primitive patches stitching

view of quilting from the back

Because of the size and the weight of the flannel/Minke, I had Donna Reznik from Inthreadible Quilting do the quilting on a long-arm. We chose a simple pattern called Geometry 3.

Technically this isn’t a challenging quilt but I love the combination of textures – cozy flannel, fuzzy Minke, and smooth cotton binding. And there are a few furry 4 legged animals I know who won’t mind snuggling up in it either!

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2016, super simple quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

