Today!

Our first month for the 1 Million Mile Quilted Postcard Challenge is almost over. You can read more about my postcard design for January below. Next week I will tell you how far we traveled and show you pictures of some of the cards I received.  

February’s theme is: “Looking out my Front Door”. 

*****************

Ken’s Kitchen is posting the recipe for Roasted Peppers with Eggs. It is a vegetarian dish which could be used for either breakfast, lunch or dinner.

*****************

The theme for January postcards was TODAY. What does that Jan 2016mean for you? Something you ate? Something you did? Something you thought? Something that happened? How do you put an element of everyday life on a 4×6 postcard?

Two years ago on January 15th, I had surgery for cancer. Now more than ever, I thank God for every new day, every new sunrise.  If you are reading this, you had a sunrise as well today. That formed the basis of my card – no matter who you are or where you live in the world, there was a sunrise.

The square the sunrise is in represents a square on the calendar. We are equal in the sunrise we share and we are equal in the time we have – 24 hours; every day, the same length. The current square is all we have. The squares of the past are behind us. We can’t walk through them again. Future squares and the dreams for those squares may or may not happen. There are no guarantees. The colours – light and dark – indicate that every day is composed of both light and dark. good and bad. Often the dark elements give perspective to the light.

On a lighter note, the right side of my card contains swatches of fabric.  Fabric is my biggest source of inspiration and entertainment. Not a day goes by that I don’t physically or mentally play with fabric. Directions to make this card are on my Quilted Postcard page.

That brings us to February.  The theme is ‘Looking Out My Front Door’. What do you see? What has captured your attention either for days or years? Put it on a card and send it to me!  While you are at it, make several and send them to distant friends. They might like to see what is outside your front door too. Let me know if you want one of my cards. (a reminder: addresses provided in a comment will not be published).

Thanks for visiting my blog. Have a creative day! Have a creative week!

NOTE:  If you received a card, it will be different than the one posted here.  I am using scraps so each one original.  I hope you like yours.

 

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in quilted postcards, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Today!

  1. judi says:

    Hi Judy – What a very special postcard – especially given your personal story behind the January theme of TODAY. Thank you for this.

  2. Laurel says:

    Hi Judy! Your postcard is beautiful. I LOVE the sunrise design. I’ve been struggling with January’s “today” theme… and then in a flurry of activity, created one today. About today. It’s my list of the wonderful things that happened while running errands and taking care of what needs to happen today. I think February’s theme will be easier for me. I hope to continue to play along!

    Thanks for posting to TN&TN’s WIP Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

