Working on UFO’s (Unfinished Objects)

Update on the 1 Million Mile Quilted Postcard Challenge – all of my cards will be in the mail this week.  Next week I will reveal January’s design and announce the theme for February. Did you mail any postcards in the month of January?  If so, would you like the miles to be included in our challenge?  Send me a comment.

*****************Chinese Spaghetti & Meatballs

Ken’s Kitchen is posting the 1st recipe for 2016.  It is Chinese Spaghetti & Meatballs.  Very good!

*****************

Now for my post. I would like to start by introducing my new Studio Assistant –Mavis Mavis. Actually, she is quite the hindrance. It doesn’t matter where I put fabric or paper.  She wants to be on top of it. I also find things from my design wall on the floor. We may have to come up with some office rules for her!

I think we are finally starting to make a dent in that UFO list. Here are some of the things I have been working on…

Anne’s Garden – This quilt is done. It is in honour of my mom. It will be revealed mid-Feb (the week of her birthday) and will be raffled off mid-June (the week of my birthday).  Make sure you come back here to see it and find out how you could win it.gravity 2 block

Gravity 2 – The top is done and it will be going to the long-armer this week.  That takes it off my to-do list for at least a couple months. Here is a preview of one section.

January postcards – will be in the mail this week. I will reveal the design and announce February’s theme next week. January stats will be posted the first week of February.

Fun with Flannel – the quilting is done and it is coming back to me today. Then all that is left is the binding.  Yeah!

Paula Nadelstern class – I took a class in Simple Symmetry 2 years ago. Her approach is to take fabric that has a bi-lateral symmetrical repeat (mirror image up, down and sideways) and to create a kaleidoscope effect with it.

partial block

To make a block you carefully mark, cut and sew 8 half square triangles to each other.  Her pattern calls for 3 blocks side by side. Depending on how you turn them, you can come up with many different primary and secondary patterns. The block on the right shows 6 of the 8 half square triangles that you would need to make a block along with the marked template needed to find the same pattern elsewhere on the fabric.

PN original

Original fabric with repeat

My challenge before the class was to find appropriate fabric. I finally found 1 fabric and bought 2 meters, which was more than the class required. Afterwards I found I PN donecouldn’t make 3 blocks of any pattern due to the large repeat (see picture on left). That is what caused the stall.  In the end, I went with what I had.  Instead of 3 rows with 3 blocks side by side, I went with 5 rows of 2 blocks. It may not have quite the same overall effect but I am still very pleased that it is off the shelf and on the wall. It’s amazing how the same pattern can make so many different designs depending on how you cut and turn things. Visit Paula’s website to view some beautiful kaleidoscopic quilting.

Next up is my Challenge Quilt.  It really needs to take priority if it is going to be done in time for the Manitoba Prairie Quilter’s Quilt Show.

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog.  Have a productive and creative week!

 

 

 

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in quilted postcards, recipes, Uncategorized, WIP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working on UFO’s (Unfinished Objects)

  1. Laurel says:

    Judy, my favourite idea in this post is your symmetry project. How. Interesting.

    I’m looking forward to your February postcard theme (so that I can be better organized to make one than I seem to be for January!).

Leave a Reply

