Rock a Bye Baby

Remember to register for the 1 Million Mile Quilted Postcard Challenge!  You have until this Friday (January 15th) to send me a comment and let me know YOU want a postcard.  The theme for January is ‘TODAY’

*****************

I must admit that I was not very happy when hubby brought this rickety old chair home.  dec 2015 013But his mother had rocked him in it when he was a baby.  How could I say no?  Besides, we like to’reclaim and repurpose’ items that would otherwise go into the landfill.  After looking at it for a year or two, it was time to do something.

My first job was to strip it.  Obviously, previous owners did not deem that to be a necessity.  The chair had 4 layers of fabric on it.  dec 2015 015Every time a new layer was added the nails got bigger – or for me, with each layer removed the nails got smaller.

Finally I got to the end of the fabric and came face to face with a combination of straw and wool on top of coils.  It was a little messier than I anticipated.  dec 2015 018

 

The final layer of fabric was pretty (very!) disgusting.  Needless to say, I handled it as little as possible although I had to use it as my general pattern.

The fabric I wanted to use was purchased in Barbados last winter.  Being a typical quilter, I look for fabric stores where ever we go.  I never did find quilting cottons but came across some lovely upholstery cotton.  The weave was not as tight as I would have liked, so I decided quilting the fabric would add strength, and reduce fraying. Certainly, a little more padding wouldn’t hurt!

Unfortunately, when I purchased the fabric I didn’t know what I was going to use it for and I had not bought enough.  Could I be creative?  dec 2015 048Could I make it stretch?  For some pieces there was no way to twist or turn it to make it fit.  It took a whole bunch of thinking, breaking the ‘straight of grain’ rules, way more time than it would of otherwise, some very strategic piecing, and maybe even a glass of wine to make it all come together!

In this case I hope you don’t see the quilting or piecing.  This is not the place for it to shine.

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2015, Reclaimed and Repurposed, Uncategorized, vintage. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rock a Bye Baby

  1. Laurel says:

    Wow! Judy, it is gorgeous! You’ve done a beautiful job!

  2. moralia says:

    Wow! That looks Sooo awesome! What a change, just beautiful!! 🙂

  3. I think you did a beautiful job with the chair. It looks great.

  4. Tammy says:

    Judy, I love it!!! Can you come and help me finish Holly’s grad gift. I need more time. But I love the rocker. Just think of the memories!!!

Leave a Reply

