Moving the Milky Way

Quilter’s World (summer 2013):Quilters world  When I saw a pattern called Battle Warfare designed by Leslie Lattner, all I could think of was how well it reflected the large starry sky that we see at the lake.  Specks of light that appear and disappear announcing the presence of fireflies.  Strokes of Northern Lights dancing in the skies.  The occasional comet falling from the sky.  Stars that form patterns and shapes, sometimes melting into each other.  Nights at the lake are spectacular.

Battle Warfare

Battle Warfare

Milky Way

Milky Way

Milky Way was going to be my first ‘real’ quilt.  Prior to that, I had
taken the Beginner class and then made several simple quilts. But
this was going to be my first quilt at the intermediate level, and it was the first quilt where I would have to follow a pattern solo.

My friends at Quilt As Desired helped pick the fabric.  Of course the colours had to reflect the night skies – shades of blues and browns.

Another weekend was spent cutting out the 2000 pieces.  Some were pretty tiny.  One and 7/8 inch squares cut on the diagonal?  That seemed a bit crazy.  Really?  Couldn’t they round up to a whole number?wip stars2

I couldn’t wait to start. The Ohio Star blocks went well.  The Rising Star blocks were a little more complicated but I did them all before I noticed that they were considerably smaller than the Ohio Star blocks. That would not work once I started joining the blocks and joining the rows.  It was back to the drawing board.  I would have to take apart all of the Rising Star blocks, and improve the accuracy on my 1/4″ seams. The 4-star block had 68 tiny pieces in each 10″ square so accuracy was critical!  wip stars3

Thanks to a well written pattern.  Thanks to Shirley who taught me how to organize and label fabric pieces.  Thanks to all the notes I made in the margins.  Thanks to more practice, more classes and more time.  And finally, thanks to Donna for the long arm quilting.  Milky Way is finally finished!

There is a lot of satisfaction in moving Milky Way from the Work In Progress (WIP) list to the Completed List.

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in 2015 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Moving the Milky Way

  1. Marjorie says:

    Very nice!!! I’m sure you enjoyed this

  2. Congratulations! A very ambitious project! It looks beautiful.

  3. Sarah says:

    Gorgeous fabric choices! I love the different stars. So glad you took this on and finished – congratulations!

  4. Laurel says:

    You’ve made a gorgeous quilt, Judy. Perhaps more meaningful to you because you had to pay special attention to it?

  5. deb says:

    It’s a great pattern to step up your progress in quilting and it looks like you are doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

