A Drive in the Country

corn

Corn field

A beautiful sunny fall day.  A $100 gift certificate.  And a sale.  What could be better?  It all added up to a lovely day spent in rural Manitoba.  hay and wind

First on the list was Morden, home of The Quilter’s Den.  The Quilter’s Den has so much character; located in an old barn, in historic downtown.  She has a wonderful selection of quilting fabric and tools, and it is displayed so well.  A real pleasure to visit. quilter's den They are celebrating their 5th anniversary, and it was their sale that enticed me to ‘make the trip’.  My finds of the day included ribbon that I just couldn’t resist (so I took some of each colour) and an embroidery CD of Vintage Ladies.  Why?  Not sure yet. morden

Winkler was next.  A little more difficult to find but worth the stop is Road 17N.  The ‘call of the fabric’ came through loud and strong but I resisted and I walked out with only 1 bundle of fat quarters plus an iron weight.  Isn’t it just the cutest thing!  And it actually works.  road 17N Winkler

Stops at 2 antique stores and 2 thrift stores did not produce any thimbles.  Where have they all gone?

On another note, this week I am introducing a new section to my blog called “Ken’s Kitchen”.  He really is a great cook and I have the pleasure of eating what he makes.

***********

Hi!  my name is Ken.  My wife, the quilter, loves curry so I thought I would begin with a curry recipe.  I will try to add a new recipe every two weeks.  Each one will be a recipe we have tried and enjoyed.

Curry powder is a blend of up to 20 different herbs and spices.  Most formulas include cardamon, chilies, cumin, fennel, fenugreek, nutmeg and turmeric (which gives curry its characteristic yellow colour).

Curried Prawns

  • 1 pkg (340g) 31-40 Frozen Peeled Prawns (raw, tail-on)
  • olive oil for sauteing
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1 can (160ml) coconut milk (not lite)
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2-3 blades chives (chopped)
  1. Thaw and remove shells from Prawns
  2. Lightly brown onions in oil on medium high heat.  Add salt, pepper and curry powder, and cook 4-5 minutes.
  3. Add coconut milk and tomato.  Reduce heat to medium and simmer gently for 12-15 minutes.
  4. Add butter, chives and prawns.  Increase heat to medium high and simmer until prawns are pink.  Do not overcook.
  5. Serve over boiled rice.

(Recipe adapted from Caribbean Cookbook – A Lifetime of Recipes by Rita G. Springer)

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in recipes, travels, Uncategorized, vintage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Drive in the Country

  1. Jacquie Simard says:

    Really looking forward to Ken’s recipes! Wonderful idea!

  2. Marnie Houston says:

    Loved taking the virtual adventure out to the rural quilt shops with you. My hubby cooks too, so I will share this recipe. Thanks

  3. Laurel says:

    Hi Judy! Your use of the “worth the trip” Manitoban references made me laugh. Thanks for noting Road 17N, that’s a new store to me. I’m looking forward to reading more “Ken’s Kitchen” posts. The curried prawn recipe looks tasty; I’ll try it soon. I guess it really is harvest time in the country; your photos are lovely.

Leave a Reply

