Recent Travels

I found these treasures on a recent trip to Alberta and Saskatchewan.  Bonneyville AB did not have a quilt shop but had a beautiful antique store, where I found these 3 thimbles.  The middle one is all dented, but I just had to rescue it.  I wonder what story it has to tell?  After getting home I did some research and discovered these alunimum thimbles with glass tops were given out as promotional gifts in the 1940’s and 50’s.  Although it was a little difficult to make out, mine says “Read the Columbian”

thimbles

Moose Jaw, SK is home to 2 lovely quilt stores.  My daughter & I did all we could to support them both!  The Quilt Patch has the most wonderful collection of flannels and minke fabric, with their own patterns and books.  Who even minds thinking about winter when you can work with those cuddly fabrics.  The collection of Primitive Flannel fat quarters I purchased is already cut and will be my September work bee project.  Quilters Haven is the second quilt store.  It had a wonderful selection of fabrics, tools and books.

Here comes winter snow pillow

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted; minimalist in everything except fabric!
This entry was posted in travels, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

