I’ve Got a Notion

Last year I signed up for Barnswallow’s Quilt Challenge 2015 – “I’ve Got a Notion”.  The challenge was to create a 3D notion, using the fabrics given.  2014 275At the time, we were traveling a lot and I was hand stitching hexi’s while sitting in the passenger seat of a car.  Even though I had everything in a ziplock bag, it was time consuming to stop, put the needle down and rethread it.  I would have to dig for the thread, for the scissors.

hexi holderMy notion was a travelling needle book that I called a Hexi Holder.  It has a needle page, a thread page, protector pages to keep fabric pieces from becoming wrinkled, and includes both open and closed pockets.  It opens up flat so that it can lay on your lap – perfect in small confined places like airplanes, and cars.  I used it on several holidays this winter and loved having everything in one place.

thread page

thread page

The page protectors are magnetized so I was able to put down the needle whenever I desired without loosing it. I was also pleased to go through almost a dozen airport security terminals without any problem.

needle page

 

ribbon

 

I was thrilled to receive 1st place (Viewer’s Choice) at the 2015 Barnswallow Quilt Show.

 

 

About Judy's Quilting Studio

Creator of all things quilted
This entry was posted in challenges and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to I’ve Got a Notion

  1. Ruth Confrey says:

    Very much enjoyed reading your blog….not a quilter “yet”, but inspired by the creativity!
    Ruth

Leave a comment